Search News
Close this search box.

BRS party retains Mahbubnagar local body seat

© Provided by The Rahnuma Daily

BRS party retains Mahbubnagar local body seat

Mahabubnagar, June 2 (NSS): Counting of votes for Mahabubnagar Local Bodies MLC by-election has been completed. The BRS party won a landslide victory in this election. BRS party candidate Naveen Reddy defeated Congress candidate Jeevan Reddy by a margin of 111 votes. A total of 1,437 votes were polled in this election. The Officials confirmed that 21 votes turned out to be  invalid. The BRS got 763 votes while the Congress got 652 votes. One vote was polled for the Independent candidate. The BRS leaders and activists have celebrated the victory in a big way as they have retained their seats again. It is known that the BJP has stayed away from the contest.

Kasireddy Narayana Reddy, who was the MLC of Mahabubnagar local bodies, won the assembly elections from Kalwakurthy constituency as a Congress party  candidate. He later resigned from his MLC post . The EC had held a by-election to the seat on March 28. Manne Jeevan Reddy of the Congress, Naveen Kumar Reddy from the BRS and Sudarshan Goud as  the Independent candidate stood in the fray. The MLC by-election, which was held after the transfer of power in the state, was taken up by the BRS and the Congress as a prestige issue. It is well known that the camp politics of both the parties went on till the eve of the polling. (NSS)

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get free tips and resources right in your inbox, along with 10,000+ others

Related Article