Search News
Close this search box.

Polls for three MLC seats in Andhra pass off peacefully

© Provided by The Rahnuma Daily

The elections to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council were held on Friday from the local bodies constituencies of Kadapa, Kurnool and SPS Nellore.

Security was stepped up at polling booths across the constituencies to avoid any untoward incidents.

The polls saw the ruling TDP and the YSRCP at loggerheads, especially in Kadapa, which is generally considered a YSRCP stronghold.

Many YSRCP leaders including party chief Jaganmohan Reddy, cast their vote on Friday afternoon in Kadapa.

According to a report in PTI, Kadapa will see 841 voters, while Kurnool will see 1,084 voters and Nellore will see 852 voters.

In total, nine MLC seats were to be filled in this election, out of which six MLCs were elected unanimously last week.

The polls were called after the seats fell vacant, as several members finished their six-year term.
After the deadline to withdraw nominations ended, the Legislature Secretary (in charge) and Returning Officer K Satyanarayana Rao declared that the seven nominees were elected.

This included Andhra Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu’s son, Nara Lokesh.

Along with Lokesh for Chittoor district, the TDP had nominated Batchula Arjunudu for Krishna district, Karanam Balaram and Pothula Sunitha for Prakasam district and also Dokka Manikya Varaprasad for Guntur district.

Alla Srinivas and Gangula Prabhakar Reddy were nominated from the YSRCP.

Lokesh is the general secretary of TDP. The 34-year-old is a graduate from Stanford and is a director in Heritage Foods, a company owned by the family.

With the unopposed election, the path is now clear for Lokesh to become a state minister.

Enanble Notification: NoTNM Marquee: No

share it

Get free tips and resources right in your inbox, along with 10,000+ others

Related Article